I found a note in one of my Bibles today.  It is from over a year and a half ago.  The summer I had my miscarriage a staff member at the university where I had attended both my undergrad and graduate programs  found out about my loss.  She called me on the phone and also sent me the note that I reread today.  One part of the note read, “Hold fast to His unchanging hand… and know His love for you is more than you can ever imagine.”  I barely knew this person, but it was such a blessing to know she, among so many other people, cared and were praying for me.

We just celebrated Easter, a day which reminds me of the hope I have in Christ.  This hope is not based upon anything I can do rather than trust.  Trust that His gift is enough to save me.  Trust that His power is enough to sustain me.  I do not trust in Him because the Church is so wonderful. Honestly, I find several “Christians” annoying and things done in the name of Christianity that I doubt Christ would approve of, let alone endorse.

I trust Jesus because I know what He has done for me.  He loves me even at my worst moments.  Moments that if I was brave enough to write about on this blog some of you would be shocked and appalled.  Thankfully, He is neither of those things.  He has not made my life easier, but He has made it more bearable because I know that situations that seem like the end here on earth are not the end.  I trust Him because although I can find sevearl examples of why I do not want to be identified with church-goers, I can also find several examples of why I want to be like other people of Jesus-faith.  This note reminded me of that.  Not only because some almost stranger cared about me just because of her faith, but because it was a reminder that He is trustworthy.

His love for us IS more than we can ever imagine.  I hope I can remember that in every situation I face.

