Today we started a new Andy Stanley series in Sunday School called i-marriage.  The first session was about what desires, hopes, dreams, and visions we had for marriage back in our pre-marriage days, and how they can become expectations once we are married.  There was a whole lot of great things on this today, but I cannot express them that well now. The lesson did give me a lot to think about.  What unfair or unrealistic expectations did I bring to marriage?

  • We would have money – especially after we were done with hubby’s college and both of our graduate programs.
  • We would always have a plan for the future.  Preferably a pretty detailed plan.  And that plan would go according to plan. 🙂
  • Marriage would be fairly easy because we both knew we wanted our marriage to be different than our families of origin.
  • Communication would be as easy and as rewarding as it was while we were long-distance dating.
  • We would have lots of “couple” friends and socialize on a fairly regular basis.
  • Holidays would be celebrated the way I envisioned them/celebrated them.
  • There would be more fun days than regular, mundane days or even difficult days.

I’m sure I have more expectations that I brought with me to marriage, but these are the first that came to mind and the ones I felt comfortable enough to write about for all the world to see.  I am looking forward to the next five weeks so I can learn what I am should do to take the focus off of me and my expectations.  Tough stuff to contemplate today, but I think it is pretty timely.

