Buddy made it to his first time at church today. Technically it was Sunday school, not church service that we attended. Eventually we will get the timing down and the rest that we need to attend both again!
It was so good to see our friends today, and the lesson Becky gave was exactly what I needed to hear. (What I heard of it since Buddy got a bit fussy for a little while). I know we were supposed to be there for that lesson about the Wild Goose Chase since we are in such a transitional and confusing time in life. Not only are we new parents, we also do not know what doors are going to open/shut for us in the next couple of months.
We are so thankful for our church friends. I wanted to verbalize this in class, but I knew I couldn’t without crying or making Ron W. cry! 🙂 The P.G. class has been such a tremendous blessing to us the last couple of years. We joined the class even though we didn’t have children because a)it was also going to focus on marriage b)we would eventually need the parenting advice and c)the style/size of the class was what we were wanting at this time in our life. We have gained something every week we have attended class. There are a lot of problems with Christianity today that are well known, but I feel that this group of people God has place in our lives is the real-deal of what Jesus wanted for Christian community. Not perfect, but authentic, challenging, encouraging, and intelligent. Aside from the Sunday class, we have appreciated everyone’s prayers over the last year – from our miscarriage, to this pregnancy, to the NICU experience, and now that we are home, and I have my moments of “What in the world am I doing?” It is good to know there are local friends who are just a phone call/Facebook message away.

